top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureb wils

ksu...wildcats?

Senior year of high school. It feels like an eternity ago but also like it was yesterday. I'm not kidding when I say the plan was to go to Kansas State. My graduation announcements literally said 'Billye will be attending Kansas State University in the fall.'


lol.


As we now know, that isn't what happened.


If you know me at all, you know I have a hard time making decisions. But surprisingly, choosing the college I wanted to go to wasn't all that hard.


My dad was born and raised in Kansas. He went to Kansas State University and graduated with a bachelor's degree in agriculture in 1982, and a degree in veterinary medicine in 1985. This man bled purple. okay? He even drove a purple GMC for a while. So. Naturally, I grew up listening to their marching band's CD, wearing mini KSU cheerleading uniforms, and was occasionally toted to Bill Snyder stadium to cheer on the wildcats in football.

I'll bite. Utah State University was not an option I had ever considered growing up. I had family members who had gone there and sometimes talked about it. But it was nowhere near as passionately as my dad talked about KSU. I applied to KSU the first chance I got. I was a good student and, not to jingle my own bells here, was confident I didn't need to apply anywhere else. My mom suggested I should apply at Utah State just in case I changed my mind. Moms really are always right.


I ended up getting accepted to both schools, but still wanted to go to KSU that fall.


After I graduated from high school, I was actually in Kansas when I decided I didn't want to go to KSU. I remember not wanting to have to buy a plane ticket each time I wanted to come home. I was scared to move so far away from Utah. But I had already signed a housing contract in Manhattan, Kansas. I was in a massive group chat with incoming freshman who were also going to KSU. I went back and forth for a few days until I finally decided to cancel that contract and tell my group chat friends that I wasn't going to be at KSU in the fall. I accepted the offer from Utah State to attend school in Logan. I reserved my spot in one of the last spots in on-campus housing. A few weeks later, I was a freshman at Utah State University.


Until l8r

XOXO

B :)

67 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

my first white rose weekend

For as tough as my freshman year was, there were some really positive memories from that year. It was around midterms fall semester, and I was struggling with school and needed something to get my mot

bid day, best day!

Rushing Kappa Delta was the best decision I made in college.

the 'b' stands for billye

If I had a nickel for every time someone asked me what the 'b' stood for, I would have a lot of nickels.

bottom of page